Personal DNA

McQuaig, Personal DNA, Personality, Self-awareness

…So, I took another personality test.

This one was very interesting. It’s well designed, you can choose answers on a sliding scale, and it’s simple to do. And you get quite a detailed report at the end – you can read mine here.

The only annoying thing is, I can’t seem to find anywhere on the site where you can read all the different type definitions. The very cool thing is that it’s an application on Facebook and you can ask your mates to psych you and then see if what they think of you matches with what you’re actually like.

I did the McQuaig at work last week, which several people I know have bigged up. I didn’t think it was that accurate – for example, it said I naturally liked to set myself deadlines. Ahem, No I don’t. Also, it’s set in a management/business context. Nah, I say – do Personal DNA instead.

7 thoughts on “Personal DNA

  1. I am always taking personality tests – to be honest I don’t know why I do them anymore! I base how good the test is on how well it describes me. If I know ‘me’ well enough to do that, then I don’t really need to do the test in the first place, right?! Having said that, I did take this personal dna one, and did find it to be quite good!

  2. Hmmm….I’m not sure whether either of you are suggesting that “good” personality tests are pointless, because they tell you what you already know. If you are, I’m not sure the logic is great.

    I think that Good personality tests are the ones that accurately describe people’s thoughts and behaviours. How do we know they’re accurate – because (1) the person thinks so and (2) people who know them agree.

    All these tests only work in the context of community, because they reveal the things about people that are unique and offer explanations as to why other people think and act differently – and in that respect, they are also helpful, because they give us tools to be able to relate better to others.

    Personality tests wouldn’t work if we weren’t at least a bit self-aware – otherwise we wouldn’t be able to answer the questions. But because they ask a number of similar questions, they can suggest which side of a number of scales we might fall on.

    The reason certain people like me take so many personality tests is because I like something that’s been designed which accurately reveals something about people. In the same way, I guess an engineer might enjoy taking apart a Ferrari, because they are fascinated that something’s been designed that works so beautifully. I don’t need to take any more personality tests – but those that are out there can always be improved and so I’m always on the hunt for new tools that “do the job” better.

    The way this test is different is that it ranks things on a number of different scales – and came out as I would expect it to, which show that it works well – the maths is good, if you like. I also liked the fact that it suggested ways to balance your preferences so that you could understand/appreciate others better and manage your weaknesses. That said, I don’t know whether it works well for people in general – I emailed them to ask them to improve the site.

    McQuaig told me things about myself that I just didn’t think were accurate. It also was very vague and didn’t give very good specific examples. That said, a number of people I know and respect say it was extremely accurate for them. So I don’t know what the issue with my results was.

    So, did I learn anything new about myself? Yes. I learnt that my “Trust In Others” is only average – I would have thought it would have come out a lot higher. But as the questions I was asked were generally worded “I think people are like this…”, maybe I was thinking more globally/big picture. Living in a Consumeristic Cynical, Postmodern, Atheistic world with threats like Terrorism, then Yes, I probably have average trust of others. But with my friends I think I have extremely high trust – maybe I’m deluding myself (!)

    I also thought that I am probably higher on Agency than it put me (the belief that I determine my own outcomes). Maybe this is because there seemed to be a connection between having Low Agency (believing in fate, luck and powerful others) and belief in God. I believe in God, but I don’t believe he controls me.

    I also came out quite low (20/100) on Authoritarianism (‘your adherence to the social order and how much you favour obedience’). Apparently I’m a bit of a rebel. OK, I already knew that!

    And I apparently have high Attention to Style (‘how aware you are of fashion trends/effort you put into your own style’). I think the definition probably needs to be split – as I don’t give a monkeys about latest fashion trends, but I like to have an originality in what I wear. Maybe I’m a fashion sell-out though.

    I realise what I’m doing actually – all the things that were unexpected I’m explaining how they must be wrong! I guess people that know me can comment on all the things I have to say whether they agree, but ultimately I do believe that I know myself and others extremely well – that’s what I’m best at! – and therefore the reason I take personality tests is to see whether they’re any good so I can go on to use them in helping others know themselves better.

  3. i just did this test and discovered i am an animated creator, ive not read the stuff yet so i dont know exactly what that means but thats fine il read it laer. i did one of these tests a few weeks ago and found out that im an entp which means something which i cant remember but found it interesting at the time, i got my family to do it and found out i had the same personality type as my dad….not cool!

    anyway, hi matt, thanks for the rant on my blog, lovely, um, yeah.

    how did you find it btw?

    Sam 🙂

  4. OK…that’s confusing: two people leaving comments under the same name, one male, one female.

    ENTP means that you’re an ‘Inventor’ (Keirsey Temperaments). It means that you’re great at seeing the potential in things and seeing how things can be changed – things rather than people because you’re a T(hinker) rather than a F(eeler) in terms of how you make decisions. (This explains why you kept pulling “Oh my goodness I can’t believe this guy’s such an idiot” faces the first time you met me).

    However, because I’m an ENFP (the ‘Champion’) and am totally obsessed with Myers-Briggs stuff, I wasn’t offended by your T-ness.

  5. Bizzare, was just on an away day with work and they got us to do a ‘pretend’ Myer’s Briggs – as in a quick test from the internet – I got ISFJ. No surprises, except I was very middle of the road on both I and F.

Comments are closed.